Club History

Thundersley Rovers Sports Club
was formed in 1963 by local football fan Keith Walker, who discovered upon moving to the area that there was no local football club for boys.

Rovers were founder members of the Thundermite League in 1966, in which our only team at the time - an Under 12 junior side featuring Mr Walker's son Kevin - participated. (it is from Thundersley Rovers that the Thundermite League took its name.)

From those early beginnings the Club grew exponentially and within a decade Rovers boasted no less than three senior teams (two Saturday and one Sunday) plus six youth teams (under 10s through to under 15s), all of whom played in the Southend Junior League.

        Tony Osbourne's (middle row, second from right) under 10 side welcomes a touring team from the USA in 1979

In 1978/79, Rovers found a permanent home at Thundersley Common having played at various venues (including Woodside Park, the John Borrows Ground, Benfleet Rec., Dark Lane and Scrub Lane) both before and after. 

The Common, now synonymous with the Club, has remained our home ground ever since and has been home to both our senior and junior teams since the beginning of the 2012/13 season.

        A good haul: Rovers pictured with various trophies in the Evening Echo, Summer 1975


Thundersley Rovers Sports Club (not 'FC'!) continued to blossom throughout the next two decades and both junior and senior Rovers teams frequently travelled abroad to destinations as varied as France, Scotland, Trinidad, Germany and Antigua.

In 1986 a touring Thundersley Rovers XI team beat a President's XI - containing future Aston Villa and Manchester United star Dwight Yorke - in Barbados during a three-week Caribbean tour, which included whistle-stop visits to the aforementioned island plus Antigua, Tobago and Trinidad.

         A Rovers touring XI - featuring both the previous and current Chairman - in Barbados, June 1986

In the 1990s and 2000s, Rovers' representation at junior level was reduced as the Club concentrated on its highly-successful Senior teams. However TRSC is well on its way to restoring the Club's Academy to its former glory, with several junior teams now wearing the famous black and white striped once again.

In 2013, Thundersley Rovers celebrated its 50th anniversary - a major achievement for a local club and a feat that all of us involved with the Club were very proud of. We look forward to representing the local community for the next 50 years!

Notable Club Honours

  • Southend & District League Division 4 Champions: 1974/75
  • GJJ Matthew Cup Winners: 1974/75
  • Southend & District League Division 3 Champions: 1976/77
  • Sceptre Sunday League Divisional Winners (D2, D3, & D4): 1986-1988
  • Ramuz Cup Winners: 1987; 2009
  • Essex Games Winners (as representatives of Castle Point): 1988
  • Mick Hayward Cup Runners-Up: 2012
  • AYFC 7s Tournament Winners: 2012

The Club have also won a string of trophies in the Sceptre League, The Southend Sunday League and the Essex County Junior Trophy and featuerd in numerous Cup Finals at both Junior and Senior level.

Club Chairmen

  • Keith Walker (1963-1977)
  • Bert Selfe (1977-1983)
  • Ray Howlett (1983-2010)
  • Graeme Howlett (2010-)

         The future: Thundersley Rovers Under Sevens, 2017